(HARTFORD, CT) – Today, Mayor-Elect Luke Bronin announced that he has established a Personnel Committee, a Financial Review & Audit Committee, and five policy working groups.

Mayor-Elect Bronin will chair the Personnel Committee, which will review applications for employment in the administration and manage searches for individuals to fill appointed positions.  The personnel committee members are: 

Luis Cabán, Chair Emeritus, Latino Endowment Fund & Former Executive Director, SINA Inc.

Bonnie Malley, Chief Financial Officer, The Phoenix Companies, Inc.

Robert Painter, Retired Surgeon and former member, Hartford City Council

Lou Watkins, Former Deputy Mayor

Shawn Wooden, City Council President & Partner, Day Pitney 

The Financial Review & Audit Committee will be chaired by Bonnie Malley, Chief Financial Officer of the Phoenix Companies, Inc.  The committee members are: 

Christopher Lewis, Chief Risk Officer, IFG Companies

Mary Tzambazakis, Chief Administrative Officer, Hartford Public Library and past Chief Financial Officer, Springfield, MA

Jason Newman, Partner, CohnReznick 

Raúl De Jesús, Hartford City Councilman

Glendowlyn Thames, Hartford City Council Member-Elect

The five policy working groups, chaired by prominent members of the Hartford community, will share their expertise with Mayor-Elect Bronin, providing him with recommendations for action upon taking office.  The policy working groups and their Chairs are as follows: 

Blighted Property Working Group

Melvyn Colón, Chair, Executive Director, Southside Institutions Neighborhood Alliance

Rex Fowler, ‎Executive Director, Hartford Community Loan Fund

Hyacinth Yennie, Chair, MARG

Gordon Scott, CEO, Scotts Jamaican Bakery 

Steve Harris, Captain (Ret.), Hartford Fire Department

Karraine Moody, Executive Director, Hartford Habitat for Humanity

Julianne Avallone, Attorney, Ford & Paulekas

Lynn Ferrari, Chair, CSS/CON NRZ

Bimal Patel, Senior Vice President of Operational Integration, Hartford Healthcare

TJ Clarke IIHartford City Council Member-Elect

Yvette Meléndez, VP Government & Community Alliances, Hartford Hospital

Lance Gordon, Developer and Urban Planner

Returning Citizens Working Group

Maureen Price-Boreland, Chair, Executive Director, Community Partners in Action

Dianne Jones, Community Organizer

Steve Camp, Pastor, Faith Congregational Church

Kennard Ray, National Policy Director, Restaurant Opportunities Centers United

Kattya Lopez, Senior U.S. Probation Officer

Thea Montanez, Promise Zone Director

Lee Hunt, Blue Hills Civic Association

Bill Carbone, Senior Lecturer, University of New Haven

Andrew Woods, Executive Director, Hartford Communities that Care

Jimmy SanchezHartford City Council Member-Elect

Youth Service Corps Working Group

Steve Bonafonte, Chair, Partner, Davis, Clark & Bonafonte LLC

Herb Virgo, Event Coordinator, Family Day Foundation

Jacquelyn Santiago, COO, Compass Youth Collaborative

Ron Pitz, Executive Director, Knox Parks Foundation

Ken Blue, President, AFSCME Local 1716

Chris Montross, Senior Director for Corporate Public Involvement, AETNA

Dion Watkins, Pastor, Mt. Olive Ministries

Maurice Eastwood, Community Organizer

Rita Ortiz, Director, Employee & Community Engagement, Community Relations Program Officer, Travelers Foundation

Diane Cantello, Vice President, Corporate Social Responsibility, The Hartford

rJo Winch, Hartford City Council Member-Elect

Charmaine Waul, ‎Student Accounts Assistant, Trinity College

Recreation Working Group

Nicole Porter, Chair, President, Blue Hills Civic Association

Doug Glanville, ESPN Commentator

Brian Gallagher, Educator

Beth Taylor, Professor, Member of the Hartford Board of Education

Maurice Eastwood, Community Organizer

José Colón, Principal, Law & Government Academy

Clinton Hamilton, Executive Director, Wilson Gray YMCA

Sam Gray, President and CEO, Boys & Girls Clubs

Dave Jorgensen, Chair, Police Athletic League

Fernando Marroquin, Staff Writer, Identidad Latina

Craig Mergins, Assistant Director of Community Relations & Park Operations, Riverfront Recapture; Chair, Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission

Julio Concepción, Hartford City Council Member-Elect

“Hartford Works” Working Group

Andrea Comer, Chair, Executive Director, Connecticut Business & Industry Association Education Foundation

Julie Watson, Director, Capital Workforce Partners

Roy Mainelli, Economic Security Manager, Journey Home

Meghan Freed, Attorney, Freed Marcroft

Gloria Ortiz-Rivera, Business & Community Liaison, Hartford Job Corps

Max Kothari, CEO, Express Kitchens

Christina Mainelli, General Manager, CareCentrix

Jerry Lupacchino, Vice President of Leadership & Organizational Development, Hartford Healthcare

John McNamara, Director, Institutional Advancement, Capital Community College

John Gale, Hartford City Council Member-Elect

Doreen Crawford, Principal, Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School


Posted in News, Posts